Gewandhaus zu Leipzig

Res Severa Verum Gaudium – ‚True joy is a serious thing’: Leipzig’s citizens and their guests from home and abroad can still read this motto, true for more than 250 years, in capital letters below the majestic organ in the concert hall at the Leipzig Gewandhaus. Named after a trading house for cloth and weaving ware traders where the Gewandhaus Orchestra, founded by 16 local merchants in 1743, played during its first years, the current Gewandhaus was opened in heart of Leipzig in 1981 as the third home of the world famous orchestra.

Every year about 600 events for nearly half a million guests are organized in the halls and foyers. This routine, a high degree of professionalism coupled with an advanced service philosophy, along with a well-coordinated team of general, technical and catering staff, make the concert house, rich in tradition, a perfect place for your successful event.

Discover the Gewandhaus zu Leipzig as your premises for classical music, large shows and small tours, for international conferences and regional meetings, for professional congresses, scientific conventions and festive events. 

Location
Right in the city centre, on the Augustusplatz

Premises
The Large Hall is a concert hall with exceptional acoustic conditions. Designed like an amphitheatre it seats 1,900 guests. The Mendelssohn Hall is a multi-functional hall for up to 498 guests. The foyers have been arranged on three levels. Each of the areas may be used individually.

  • Large Hall: 2,500 m², room height up to 35 m, theatre-type setup for 1,900 persons
  • Mendelssohn Hall: approx. 500 m², room height up to 8 m, theatre-style setup for 498 persons, classroom setup for 250 persons, round-table setup for approx. 250 persons
  • Foyer Schumann Corner: 130 m²
  • Foyer Large Hall: approx. 1.200 m²,
  • Mendelssohn Foyer: approx. 450 m²,
  • All foyers: round-table setup up to 1,000 persons
  • Other rooms: Arthur Nikisch Room, choir rehearsal hall, meeting room

Suitable for

  • Concerts
  • Evening events / dinners  
  • Congresses, conventions
  • Exhibitions
  • Receptions, press conferences, CD productions
  • Business presentations
  • Limitations of use: During the summer the house will remain closed for a 3-weeks interval. The period of the interval varies according to the vacation period in Saxony.

Gewandhaus zu Leipzig

Res Severa Verum Gaudium – „Wahre Freude ist eine ernste Sache:“ Diesen seit über 250 Jahren gültigen Leitspruch können die Leipziger und ihre Gäste aus dem In- und Ausland auch heute in großen Lettern unter der majestätischen Orgel im Großen Konzertsaal des Gewandhauses zu Leipzig lesen. Benannt nach einem Handelshaus für Tuch- und Webwarenhändler, in dem das 1743 von 16 Leipziger Kaufleuten gegründete Gewandhausorchester in seinen ersten Jahren musizierte, wurde das heutige Gewandhaus als dritte Heimstatt des weltberühmten Klangkörpers 1981 im Herzen Leipzigs eröffnet.

Pro Jahr werden rund 600 Veranstaltungen für fast eine halbe Million Gäste in den Sälen und Foyers ausgerichtet. Diese Routine, hohe Professionalität mit modernem Servicegedanken sowie ein eingespieltes Team von Mitarbeitern, Technikern und Gastronomen machen das traditionsreiche Konzerthaus zu einem perfekten Ort für Ihre erfolgreiche Veranstaltung.

Entdecken Sie das Gewandhaus zu Leipzig als Ihren Raum für klassische Musik, große Shows und kleine Tourneen, für  internationale Konferenzen und regionale Meetings, für  professionelle Kongresse, wissenschaftliche Tagungen und Festveranstaltungen. 

Lage
direkt im Stadtzentrum, am Augustusplatz

Räume
Der Große Saal ist ein Konzertsaal mit ausgezeichneter Akustik. Er ist amphitheatrisch aufgebaut und bietet Platz für 1900 Gäste. Der Mendelssohn-Saal ist ein multifunktionaler Saal für bis zu 498 Gäste. Die Foyers sind in 3 Ebenen gegliedert. Die einzelnen Bereiche sind individuell nutzbar.

  • Großer Saal: 2.500 m², Raumhöhe bis 35 m, Reihenbestuhlung für 1.900 Personen
  • Mendelssohn-Saal: ca. 500 m², Raumhöhe bis 8 m, Reihenbestuhlung für 498 Personen, parlamentarische Bestuhlung für 250 Personen, Bankettbestuhlung für ca. 250 Personen
  • Foyer Schumann-Eck: 130 m²
  • Foyer Großer Saal: ca. 1.200 m²,
  • Mendelssohn-Foyer: ca. 450 m²,
  • Foyers gesamt: Bankettbestuhlung bis 1.000 Personen
  • weitere Räumlichkeiten: Arthur-Nikisch-Raum, Chorprobensaal, Beratungsraum

Eignung

  • Konzerte
  • Abendveranstaltungen / Dinner
  • Kongresse, Tagungen
  • Ausstellungen
  • Empfänge, Pressekonferenzen, CD-Produktionen
  • Firmenpräsentationen
  • Nutzungseinschränkungen: Im Sommer ist das Haus für eine 3-wöchige Spielpause geschlossen, Der Zeitraum richtet sich nach den sächsischen Schulferien.